Latvian EU Law Association

Latvian EU Law Association (ESTA) was established already in 2002 and is the first and so far the only lawyers association, whose members share a particular interest about the EU law.

Aims of the Association are to research and to analyze the EU Law and related legal issues and to inform the citizens of Latvia about the EU Law.

So far the most visible activity of the Association has been the publication of the voluminous edition of the commentaries to the Latvian Accession Treaty to the EU, Tiesu namu aģentūra, January 2003 (ISBN 9984671534) and organization of the conference on Latvian EU law terminology in cooperation with the Riga Graduate School of Law, November 2005.

In order to achieve its goals, the Association is active also internationally. Since 2004 it is a member of FIDE (Fédération Internationale de Droit Européen). Latvian EU Law association members have participated in all events organized by the FIDE since 2002. FIDE conferences are organized on biannual basis: this year by Estonian EU Law Association.

ESTA contacts
phone: +371 26335696

Latvian EU Law Association ESTA (Eiropas Savienības Tiesību Asociācija)
Kekavas pag., Jaunsils, "Flautas", Latvia
VAT reg. nr. 40008071783
Bank: DnB Nord,
IBAN nr: LV53RIKO0002013016871

ESTA members

Andris Vitols
Chairman of the board,
Lawyer - linguist in the Division of legislative acts of the European Parliament

Renars Danelsons
Member of the board
Counsellor of the Embassy of the Republic of Latvia in Ireland

Kristine Drevina
Member of the board
Representative of the Government of Latvia before the European Court of Justice Organizations (Government Agent), Director of the Department for cooperation with the European Court of Justcie, Ministry of Justice

Jorens Aizsils

Esmeralda Balode-Buraka
LL.M., Dr.iur.cand., Lawyer, Associate, "bnt Klauberg Krauklis" Attorneys-at-law

Maris Brizgo

Juris Gromovs
Member of the Odysseus Academic Network for Legal Studies on Immigration and Asylum

Ruta Konstante
Team Leader of the EU funded project "Implementation of Twinning, TAIEX and Sigma operations in Azerbaijan"

Arturs Kucs

Zaneta Mikosa
Parliamentary secretary, Ministry of Environment

Jolanta Mikelsone
Counsellor  at the Permanent Representation of the Republic of Latvia to the European Union

Einars Punkstins
Administrator, European Parliament, Committee on Fisheries

Egita Skibele
JHA Counsellor- Justice Affairs, Permanent Representation of the Republic of Latvia to the European Union

Oksana Zikuna

Anita Zikmane